A month after its announcement, WhatsApp is letting you react to messages in both individual and group chats with an emoji.
Mark Zuckerberg shared the news about the feature’s rollout in a Facebook post this week.
So far it looks like you can react using six emojis including the heart, folded hands and surprised face emojis.
The Facebook boss said that the folded hands emoji was included ‘to help spread thanks and appreciation’ and added that more expressions were coming soon.
The emoji reactions does come with limitations. For example, you can only add one reaction per message which is pretty standard across the Meta-owned apps like Facebook and Instagram.
Also, it’s not possible to hide reactions or reaction counts so you might want to be careful with it.
Recipients might see your reaction before you remove it or if removing it wasn’t successful. WhatsApp warned that you won’t be notified if removing a reaction wasn’t successful.
Users can view all reactions to a message by tapping the reactions emoji below the message.
Not surprisingly, reactions to disappearing messages will disappear when the message does.
The emoji reactions, common on apps like Slack and Telegram, are set to be an important feature going forward as WhatsApp expands the size of group chats from 256 to 512 members.
Thankfully, when you react to a message in group chats, only the sender of that message will receive a notification.
How to react to message with an emoji on WhatsApp?
It’s pretty simple to react to a message with an emoji, all you have to do is long-press on the message and then tap which emoji you want.
You can also change your reaction to a different one by long pressing the same message and tapping a different emoji.
To remove your emoji reaction to a message, you can just long press the message and tap the emoji you reacted with to remove it.
WhatsApp assures that it won’t send a notification if you remove a reaction.
If you haven’t got the feature yet, don’t worry. A Meta spokesperson said that it could take ‘a week’ for the feature to be rolled out to all users.