What others are doing to stop spread of Omicron Covid variant – from Israel to India

Several countries have banned arrivals from southern Africa and some have closed their borders to all foreign visitors in fear of the new Omicron Covid variant

Among measures rolled out in Poland are a ban on arrivals from seven African countries and limiting numbers in pubilc spaces like restaurants
Among measures rolled out in Poland are a ban on arrivals from seven African countries and limiting numbers in public spaces like restaurants

Other countries are tightening their borders and enforcing restrictions after recording cases of the Omicron variant.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Tuesday announced a series of measures to protect Brits against the vaccine-resistant strain.

Everyone who is eligible will be invited for a booster jab before the end of January.

Days ago the UK Government also put several southern African nations on the “red list”.

Arrivals from the 10 countries will have to complete a day two PCR test and self-isolate until they get a negative result.

As the UK counts 22 confirmed cases of Omicron other countries are also logging infections and responding with a broad range of measures.

Australia also introduced travel restrictions from southern Africa

While many have banned flights from African countries, some introduced tighter restrictions like mandatory vaccines and tracking to watch the movements of confirmed cases.

Here’s what other countries are doing to stop the spread of the Omicron variant of coronavirus.


Has banned flights from seven African countries, extended quarantine for some travellers and further limited the numbers allowed into places such as restaurants.


Introduced travel restrictions from southern Africa with immediate effect on Saturday, and said it would delay reopening its international borders by two weeks after reporting three Omicron cases this week.


Banned foreigners from entering the country for 14 days after confirming one case of the variant.

In addition, a three-day mandatory quarantine for all vaccinated Israeli nationals, and a seven-day quarantine for the unvaccinated. Phone tracking technology will also be used to track the movements of confirmed coronavirus patients.

Israel rolled out measures after just one confirmed case of the Omicron variant


Introduced a 10-day quarantine and negative PCR test requirement for non-Swiss nationals or residents traveling from countries including Belgium, the Netherlands, UK and Czech Republic.


Allowing travellers from southern Africa only if they have a “worthy purpose”, but still have to quarantine.


Confirmed first case of the Omicron variant yesterday, a day after closing its borders to all foreigners.


From January 16 vaccinations for people over 60 will be mandatory, with fines of 100 euros a month for those who fail to get vaccinated.


Passengers from ‘at risk’ countries will be tested on arrival and can’t leave the airport until their tests results are available.

If negative, they will have to quarantine for seven days and be retested on the eighth.

Hong Kong

Banned non-residents from southern Africa, as well as Angola, Ethiopia, Nigeria and Zambia, and anyone who has been to Austria, Australia, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Israel and Italy in the past 21 days.

Read More

Read More


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more