WBBL 2020 final: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder – Women's Big Bash League live!

Sydney Thunder must chase 87 to win the Big Bash League

WICKET! Flintoff b Darlington 1 (6), Stars 73-8

WICKET! Osborne c Haynes b Johnson 6 (11), Stars 7-66

WICKET! Sutherland c Haynes b Smith 20 (20), Stars 53-6

WICKET! King c Litchfield b Knight 0 (2), Stars 37-5

WICKET! Sciver c Haynes b Bates 11 (11)

WICKET! Lanning c Wilson b Ismail 13 (15), Stars 3-20

WICKET! du Preez lbw Johnson 4 (10), Stars 20-2



WICKET! Villani c Haynes b Johnson 1 (11), Stars 3-1


Melbourne Stars win the toss and bat

Get in touch


It took 58 matches in a condensed schedule of barely more than four weeks, and in the end it has come down to this. The Melbourne Stars, also known as Green Melbourne, who for the previous five years have been an absolute pile of pants, even when Meg Lanning used to make a million runs for them back in the opening two seasons. She returned this year after some time in Perth, and suddenly the Stars morphed into the best team in the comp, with a convincing XI all the way down the card.

Then we have the Sydney Thunder, also known as Green Sydney, a team that has often been a contender, and that was the inaugural champion back in 2015-16, but it is a different and younger side this year after losing a few of the veterans of years past. Nowadays, under captain Rachel Haynes, this is a team featuring a lot of teenage and early-20s players. They should have lost the semi to Brisbane, but somehow found a way back in the field. Tonight they’ll try for one more win.

Green on green, away we go.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more