US PGA Championship 2018 guide: predictions, tee times, betting odds, how to watch

100th US PGA Championship

  • When: 9-12 August 
  • Where: Bellerive Country Club, St Louis, Missouri, USA 
  • Course length: 7,329 yards 
  • Par: 70 
  • Prize purse: $10.5m (£8.1m) 
  • Field: 156 players

Defending champion Justin Thomas will go into the 2018 US PGA Championship aiming for two wins in a week following his victory at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational in Akron, Ohio.

The 25-year-old American, who is ranked No.2 in the world, is grouped with Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy and golfing icon Tiger Woods when the final major of the season gets under way in St Louis on Thursday.

According to the bookies, Thomas is third favourite for the PGA Championship title. World No.1 Dustin Johnson is the favourite followed by McIlroy, Thomas and US Open winner Brooks Koepka.

Here we look at the US PGA Championship tee times, predictions, betting odds and how to watch in the United Kingdom.

Predictions: who will win the US PGA?

T.J. Auclair, “Rickie Fowler. Seven of the last eight PGA champions have been first-time major winners, including the last three straight: Jason Day, Jimmy Walker and Justin Thomas. Our guess is that the luck of the first-time winners will continue at Bellerive. And it will be Fowler. Fowler has finished in the top-10 on eight occasions in the majors. His best PGA finish is a T3 in 2014 and he finished T5 in 2017. It just feels like a major is right around the corner.”

Michael Bamberger, “Rory [McIlroy]. The driving game he showed in Akron, for one thing. Also, how long can you keep a good man down?”

See also  Sporting manager hints at new delay for Manchester United in Bruno Fernandes transfer

Alan Shipnuck, “Justin Thomas. He is the game’s most complete player and comes in with a ton of momentum. And a softish parkland course like Bellerive is right in his wheelhouse.”

How to watch the US PGA in the UK

There’s no TV coverage of the tournament this year in the UK and Ireland after Sky Sports and the BBC pulled out. But golf fans will be able to watch online via Eleven Sports.

In a statement, the broadcaster said: “Eleven Sports will allow free access to the event. There will be three ways to watch the action on Eleven Sports. All four rounds will be shown live and free of charge through a seven-day trial on the Eleven Sports website, and on iOS and Android mobile and tablet apps. The first two rounds will also be streamed for free on Facebook Live through the Eleven Sports UK page.”

Thursday 9 August and Friday 10 August

  • 4pm to 7pm: featured groups on, the mobile/tablet apps and Facebook Live
  • 7pm to close: full coverage on, the mobile/tablet apps and Facebook Live

Saturday 11 August

  • 5pm to close of play: full coverage on, the mobile/tablet apps and Facebook Live

Sunday 12 August

  • 5pm to close of play: full coverage on, the mobile/tablet apps and Facebook Live

PGA Championship betting odds

Latest best prices, according to Oddschecker (as of 6 August).

  • Dustin Johnson: 10/1 
  • Rory McIlroy: 14/1 
  • Justin Thomas: 14/1 
  • Brooks Koepka: 22/1 
  • Jason Day: 22/1 
  • Justin Rose: 22/1 
  • Rickie Fowler: 22/1 
  • Jordan Spieth: 25/1 
  • Jon Rahm: 25/1 
  • Tommy Fleetwood: 28/1 
  • Tiger Woods: 28/1 
  • Francesco Molinari: 30/1   
  • Patrick Reed: 40/1

US PGA Championship tee times

Thursday’s first-round tee times for the major at the Bellerive Country Club. All times are UK and players are US unless stated.

Starting at hole one:

  • 12.50pm: Eddie Pepperell (Eng), Michael Block, Ryan Fox (NZ) 
  • 1.01pm: Austin Cook, Craig Hocknull (Aus), Alexander Bjork (Swe) 
  • 1.12pm: Yusaku Miyazato (Jpn), Bob Sowards, Scott Brown 
  • 1.23pm: Thomas Bjorn (Den), Rafael Cabrera-Bello (Spa), James Hahn 
  • 1.34pm: Billy Horschel, Byeong-Hun An (Kor), Shane Lowry (Irl) 
  • 1.45pm: Yuta Ikeda (Jpn), Brian Harman, Adam Hadwin (Can) 
  • 1.56pm: Jimmy Walker, Padraig Harrington (Irl), Vijay Singh (Fij) 
  • 2.07pm: Bryson DeChambeau, Andy Sullivan (Eng), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha) 
  • 2.18pm: Cameron Smith (Aus), Ryan Armour, Peter Uihlein 
  • 2.29pm: Paul Dunne (Irl), J.B. Holmes, Dylan Frittelli (Rsa) 
  • 2.40pm: Charles Howell III, Jason Schmuhl, Brian Gay 
  • 2.51pm: David Muttitt, Ollie Schniederjans, Troy Merritt 
  • 3.02pm: Shawn Warren, Mikko Korhonen (Fin), J.J. Spaun 
  • 6.20pm: Brandon Stone (Rsa), Johan Kok (Rsa), Whee Kim (Kor) 
  • 6.31pm: Matt Wallace (Eng), Matt Dobyns, Beau Hossler 
  • 6.42pm: Chris Wood (Eng), Alex Noren (Swe), Matt Kuchar 
  • 6.53pm: Bubba Watson, Dustin Johnson, Adam Scott (Aus) 
  • 7.04pm: Tommy Fleetwood (Eng), Satoshi Kodaira (Jpn), Marc Leishman (Aus) 
  • 7.15pm: Brooks Koepka, Patrick Reed, Francesco Molinari (Ita) 
  • 7.26pm: Sergio Garcia (Spa), Gary Woodland, Kevin Kisner 
  • 7.37pm: Jordan Spieth, Jon Rahm (Spa), Justin Rose (Eng) 
  • 7.48pm: Paul Casey (Eng), Aaron Wise, Zach Johnson 
  • 7.59pm: Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa), Thomas Pieters (Bel), Bill Haas 
  • 8.10pm: Jason Kokrak, Joaquin Niemann (Chi), Daniel Berger 
  • 8.21pm: Omar Uresti, Justin Harding (Rsa), Andrew Landry 
  • 8.32pm: Matthew Borchert, Chris Stroud, Barracuda Winner

Starting at hole ten:

  • 12.55pm: Rich Berberian Jr., Jamie Lovemark, Shugo Imahira (Jpn) 
  • 1.06pm: Brandt Snedeker, Sean McCarty, Haotong Li (Chn) 
  • 1.17pm: Jim Furyk, Tony Finau, Xander Schauffele 
  • 1.28pm: Martin Kaymer (Ger), Davis Love III, Rich Beem 
  • 1.39pm: Rickie Fowler, Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Ian Poulter (Eng) 
  • 1.50pm: Danny Willett (Eng), Henrik Stenson (Swe), Pat Perez
  •  2.01pm: Jason Day (Aus), Phil Mickelson, Keegan Bradley 
  • 2.12pm: Shubhankar Sharma (Ind), Jordan Smith (Eng), Scott Piercy 
  • 2.23pm: Rory McIlroy (NIrl), Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods 
  • 2.34pm: Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng), Webb Simpson, Jhonattan Vegas (Ven) 
  • 2.45pm: Stewart Cink, Branden Grace (Rsa), Ryan Moore 
  • 2.56pm: Ross Fisher (Eng), Alexander Levy (Fra), Patton Kizzire 
  • 3.07pm: Julian Suri, Sungjae Imn (Kor), Craig Bowden 
  • 6.15pm: Chesson Hadley, Daniel Balin, Russell Henley 
  • 6.26pm: Marty Jertson, Luke List, Kevin Chappell 
  • 6.37pm: Nick Watney, Jaysen Hansen, Kyle Stanley 
  • 6.48pm: Ted Potter, Jr., Emiliano Grillo (Arg), Jorge Campillo (Spa) 
  • 6.59pm: Ryan Vermeer, Paul Broadhurst (Eng), John Daly 
  • 7.10pm: Si Woo Kim (Kor), Brice Garnett, Tyrrell Hatton (Eng) 
  • 7.21pm: Yong-eun Yang (Kor), Shaun Micheel, Jason Dufner 
  • 7.32pm: Charl Schwartzel (Rsa), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den), Patrick Cantlay 
  • 7.43pm: Brendan Steele, Adrian Otaegui (Spa), Kevin Na 
  • 7.54pm: Charley Hoffman, Chez Reavie, Russell Knox (Sco) 
  • 8.05pm: Michael Kim, Seung-su Han, Zachary J Johnson 
  • 8.16pm: Brian Smock, Anirban Lahiri (Ind), Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Fra) 
  • 8.27pm: Ben Kern, Ryuko Tokimatsu (Jpn), Chris Kirk


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more