Speaker Dogara wins House of Reps seat for fourth time, dedicates victory to God, constituents

…Dedicates victory to God, constituents

The Speaker House of Representative, Yakubu Dogara of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has retained his seat as member representing Bogoro/Dass/ Tafawa-Balewa Federal Constituency in Bauchi.

Announcing the results of the just concluded elections, INEC Returning Officer in the constituency, Prof. Mohammed Abdulhamid, said in Zwall, the collation centre, on Sunday, that Dogara polled 73,609 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Alhaji Dalhatu Kantana of the All Progressives Congrss (APC), who scored 50,078 votes, and six other candidates.

He commended the electorate for their orderly conduct, saying the exercise was transparent and hitch-free.

With this victory, Dogara will be representing his constituency for the fourth consecutive time.

He was elected for the first time in 2007 and has so far spent 12 years as member of the House.

Meanwhile the speaker in a reaction after his victory dedicated the victory to God and his constituents.

The Speaker in a statement he personally signed said the people made their choice despite intimidation and harrasement.

Read his full statement below:

I dedicate my victory to God and my constituents- Dogara

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”171825″]

I dedicate this victory to God first and our ever peace loving & resilient people of Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency who defied all odds to return me to the House of Representatives for an unprecedented 4th term. By their uncommon courage, sacrifice  and patience in the face of unwarranted provocation, threat & intimidation & attempts to subvert their will by undemocratic forces, they have made history today in Nigeria by breaking a jinx that has plagued the House of Representatives since 1st Assembly as no presiding officer (both Speaker & Deputy  Speaker) has ever been re-elected to the House.

READ  Zille puts brake on Ramaphosa in tablet saga – for now

Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa has also set a record as the first in Bauchi state to return a member to the House of Representatives for fourth consecutive term. Thanks to many friends and supporters who contributed immensely in making this history possible. Together we shall continue to defy evil and make Nigeria work again.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here