Solar eclipse LIVE stream: How to watch the only total solar eclipse of 2019 online


Tomorrow’s solar is the first of two this year and the only total eclipse of the Sun in 2019. Unfortunately, the eclipse will be very limited in the number of countries that will have a chance to spot it. According to space agency NASA the South American nations of Chile and Argentina are the only lucky spots for viewing. The good news, however, is a number of astronomical observatories will track the eclipse live over the internet.

What time is the total solar eclipse 2019?

The eclipse will kick off over the South Pacific Ocean in the evening hours of Universal Time.

Here in the UK, where the eclipse will not be visible, the event will peak at 8.24pm BST or 7.24pm UTC.

More locally, the eclipse will start over Chile’s La Serena around 3.22pm local time and move towards Argentina.

NASA said: NASA said: “The eclipse begins over the Pacific Ocean and the lunar shadow enters South America near La Serena, Chile at 3.22 pm EDT (3.22pm CLT). Totality begins in La Serena at 4.38pm EDT (4.38 pm CLT).

READ MORE:

Solar eclipse 2019 live stream: Total eclipse

Solar eclipse 2019: Find out how to watch the July total eclipse of the Sun online (Image: GETTY)

Solar eclipse 2019 live stream: NASA eclipse map

Solar eclipse 2019: NASA will stream live the eclipse over South America (Image: NASA)

“The total eclipse will end near Chascomús, Buenos Aires, Argentina at 4.44pm EDT (5.44pm ART), not long before sunset at 5.24pm EDT (6.24pm ART).

The Sun will be setting just as the entire eclipse ends

The European Southern Observatory

“Outside this path, a partial solar eclipse will be visible in the rest of Chile and Argentina as well as Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay and parts of Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela and Panama.”

READ  Carbon monoxide that kills humans on Earth could provide ideal breeding ground for alien microbes

If you do not live in any of these locations you will still be able to watch the eclipse live online.

The eclipse will be broadcast by institutions such as  and the European Southern Observatory (ESO).

Read on below to find out more about the available solar eclipse live streams.

READ MORE: 

How to watch the solar eclipse live online

There is a wide variety of eclipse live streams for you to pick from tomorrow evening.

First, NASA has partnered with the San Francisco Exploratorium to broadcast the eclipse live on NASA TV and the space agency’s website.

You can watch the live stream in the embedded video player below.

The NASA eclipse broadcast will feature commentary in English and Spanish, starting at 8pm BTS or 3pm EDT.

The Virtual Telescope Project will also track the eclipse tomorrow, with views from the South American Atacama desert.

The eclipse live stream will start at 8pm BST or 7pm UTC.

Click here to watch the eclipse live online with the Virtual Telescope.

Alternatively, the European Southern Observatory (ESO) will watch the event from the La Silla Observatory in Chile.

The ESO said: “The 2019 total solar eclipse will last about one minute and 52 seconds from the La Silla summit.

“The Sun will be setting just as the entire eclipse ends and the peak of totality will happen when the Sun is a mere 13 degrees above the horizon from the view of La Silla Observatory.

READ  MDMA users more empathetic than people who take other drugs, study finds

“In addition to the beautiful colours in the sky that accompany the time before sunset, the Sun’s low angle means the lunar shadow could create a unique ‘U-shape’ in the atmosphere.”

READ MORE:

Solar eclipse 2019 live stream: Total eclipse

Solar eclipse 2019: The total eclipse is caused by the Moon passing in front of the Sun (Image: GETTY)

Solar eclipse 2019 live stream: Eclipse

Solar eclipse 2019: Always wear protective glasses when watching a solar eclipse (Image: GETTY)

Robotic telescope service Slooh will also broadcast the event tomorrow evening, from observatories in Chile and Argentina.

The Slooh live stream will kick off at 8.15pm BST or 7.15pm UTC. Click here to watch.

Slooh astronomer Dr Paige Godfrey said: “The July 2nd eclipse is the first total solar eclipse since the Transcontinental Total Solar Eclipse in summer of 2017.

“That was almost two years ago now, and people are still talking about it as the greatest celestial event of their lifetimes.

“That event has had a lasting effect that has heightened excitement for many of these to come.”



READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here