Scottish Government expands travel green list

New additions have been made to the international travel green list for Scotland, including popular summer destinations Malta, Madeira and the Balearic islands.

The Scottish Government stated that there will be close monitoring of the position in the Balearics over the next three weeks ahead of the next review point.

The easing follows the latest review of the ‘traffic light’ risk warning system for international travel which came into effect on 17 May.

Other additions to an expanded green travel list include Antigua, Barbados and Bermuda.

A number of destinations – including Tunisia and Uganda – have been added to the red list, which requires managed isolation for 10 days on return.

The latest changes come into effect at 4am on 30 June.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

The steps were considered on a four nation basis at a strategic meeting, which also considered possible options for future changes to amber list arrival requirements.

The Scottish Government is “cautiously considering” the evidence for easing amber list travel restrictions for fully vaccinated people.

However, it stated that the need for caution to protect public safety means no decision is expected on this immediately and four nations discussions will continue.

The latest analysis of international travel restrictions has seen no change to the green and red list requirements.

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport Michael Matheson said: “From the outset we have said caution is required regarding international travel and people should think very carefully about travelling abroad as situations can suddenly change.

“We continue to work closely with the other home nations and are cautiously supportive of exploring options for the easing of restrictions for fully vaccinated travellers arriving from countries on the amber list – but only if the clinical advice supports it and if systems are in place to ensure the wider safety of the Scottish population.”

The full list of additions to the green list on 30 June are:

  • Malta
  • Madeira and the Balearic islands
  • The Caribbean nations of Antigua, Barbados, Barbuda, Dominica and Grenada
  • The UK overseas territories of Anguilla and Montserrat, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Pitcairn, and Turks and Caicos Islands

The current green list countries are:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Falkland Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Saint Helena
  • Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

The Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Haiti, Mongolia, Tunisia and Uganda have been added to the red list following the latest review.

Travellers currently returning from red list countries are required to enter managed isolation.

Amber list returnees must self-isolate at home with two PCR tests on days two and eight.

Travellers returning from green list countries are not required to isolate, with a PCR test on day two.

The statement added that as not many countries currently accept a record of Covid vaccination status as an entry requirement, for the time being most people will still need to follow other rules when travelling abroad – like getting a negative pre-departure PCR test.

Don’t miss the latest headlines with our twice-daily newsletter – sign up here for free.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more