Oyo Governor Rewards Judge Stalling Trial Of #EndSARS Protesters With Promotion

The Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde has promoted Justice Moshood Akinfemi Abass to the President of the Oyo State Customary Court of Appeal.

The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Debo Ogundoyin who read the letter of his promotion from the governor on the floor of the Assembly on Wednesday noted that a date for screening and confirmation would be announced in due time.

According to the letter from Makinde, the state judicial council had forwarded the name of the nominee to the National Judicial Council and the council had ratified the decision.

SaharaReporters reports that Justice Abass has been absent at the last four adjournments in the suit against #EndSARS protesters, hence leaving the arrested youths in remand.

Those arrested and charged because of their involvement in last year’s #EndSARS protest in the state are Adesina Ademuyiwa, Ikechukwu Eze, Ariyo Sodiq, Ikennan Amaechi, Oyewole Olumide, Ariyo Afeez, Taoreed Abiodun, Lowoori Ajadi, Sikiru Lukman, Adekunle Maroof, and Rasheed Tiamiyu.

Meanwhile, the state House of Assembly on Wednesday also screened and confirmed 10 nominees as Commissioners-designate.

The Speaker of the House, Ogundoyin had announced the receipt of the list of the nominees from Governor Makinde for screening and clearance.

All the nominees were asked to take a bow and go as moved in a motion by the Majority Leader of the House, Onaolapo Sanjo Adedoyin, and seconded by the Minority Leader of the House, Asimiyu Alarape.

Those screened include Mr Seun Fakorede, Mr Adeniyi Adebisi, Mr Olasunkanmi Olaleye, Mr Wasiu Olatunbosun, and Mr Abdulrahman Abdulrahim who are all returning commissioners.

Others are Mr Abiodun Oni, Professor Misbau Babatunde, Mr Segun Olayiwola, Dr Bode Ladipo, and Alhaja Kafilat Omolabake Olayiwola.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more