Home africa Oyo Assembly suspends 13 council chiefs

Oyo Assembly suspends 13 council chiefs


Yinka Adeniran, Ibadan

OYO State House of Assembly on Tuesday suspended 13 caretaker chairmen across the local governments and local council development areas (LCDAs).

The affected chairmen are from five local governments and eight LCDAs.

The indefinite suspension, which takes immediate effect, was announced during yesterday’s plenary due to the “non-compliance to the resolution of the House on submission of status of earth moving equipment in their domains to the House as requested.”

With the development, the House directed the caretaker chairmen to hand over to their secretaries forthwith so as not to create any vacuum.

The lawmakers hinged the indefinite suspension on the failure of the suspended council bosses to submit the report of the status of earth moving equipment in their councils to the House as requested and directed.

The House had on two occasions directed council chairmen to submit the report and gave October 23 as deadline for the submission of the report.

The affected local governments include Ido Local Government, Oluyole Local Government, Ibadan North East Local Government, Itesiwaju Local Government and Oyo East Local Government.

Read Also: BREAKING: Oyo Assembly suspends 13 council chairmen indefinitely

The affected LCDA caretaker chairmen are those of Akinyele East, Lagelu West, Soro, Ogbomoso Central, Ogbomoso South, Ajorosun, Ibarapa North West and Oyo South East.

Speaking while ruling on the recommendation of the suspension, Speaker Adebo Ogundoyin said the affected caretaker chairmen demonstrated gross incompetence over their failure to bring a simple report on the state of earth moving equipment in their domains.

READ  How another escort in Osinbajo's office 'escaped convoy accident' but lost wife hours later

He added that the Assembly was disappointed in their action and that the lawmakers and the people had lost faith in their ability and competence.

Ogundoyin said: “Section 21 of the Local Government Law says without prejudice to the provisions of this law and sequel to the petition received by the House of Assembly and upon investigation, any culpable chairman or vice chairman shall be recommended for suspension or removal by a resolution of the House.

“It is not a witch-hunt of any chairman. Thirteen caretaker chairmen failed to honour and respect the directive of the House.”

Presenting the report of the Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters earlier, Mr. Segun Ademola (Ibadan South East 2) said despite the grace of another two weeks given by the House to local governments and LCDAs yet to submit the report of earth moving equipment in their domains to do so, which lapsed on October 23, 13 chairmen still failed to submit same as directed.

Deputy Speaker Muhammad Fadeyi hailed the committee for doing a good job and described the action of the 13 caretaker chairmen as an affront and an insult to the 9th House of Assembly, hence they should be suspended indefinitely.

Others including Majority Leader Sanjo Adedoyin, Minority Leader Asimiyu Alarape, Isiaka Tunde (Oyo East/Oyo West) and Olusola Owolabi (Ibadan North East 2) were unanimous in applauding the decision of the House to suspend the caretaker chairmen.

They said it was the duty of the lawmakers to ensure that the local governments and LCDAs functioned well.

READ  NDDC trains, empowers 27 physically challenged people in Delta



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here