Nine women make commissioners’ list in Kwara

Nine women were among the 16 names nominated as commissioners by Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

Chief Press Secretary to the Governor Mr. Rafiu Ajakaye said in Ilorin on Tuesday that their names had been forwarded to the House of Assembly for clearance.

He said with the nine women on the list, the female gender would represent 56. 25 per cent, while men would be 43. 75 per cent of the coming executive council (exco).

“With the inclusion of five women on the list of the fresh nominees sent to the Assembly, Governor AbdulRazaq has gone down in history as Nigeria’s most gender-friendly governor,” Ajakaye said.

He said the inclusion of nine women in the exco was in fulfilment of the promise the governor made to compensate them for not having representatives in the House of Assembly and National Assembly.

Ajakaye said each of the 16 local governments had a commissioner nominee.

He said they comprised top bureaucrats, entrepreneurs, educationists, professionals and grassroots politicians.

The women nominees include Saadatu Modibbo Kawu (Ilorin South); Joana Kolo (Edu); Arinola Fatima Lawal (Ilorin East); Aishat Ahman Patigi (Patigi) and Afolabi Adenike Khairat (Ifelodun).


READ  New Emirate Creation: Withdraw case before court now, embrace decision ― Ganduje's aide tells Sanusi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here