Mirror Book Club: Sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll in insider's glimpse at Rolling Stone


Take your pick from our best new reads of the week with themes from adoption to an insider’s look at the iconic Rolling Stone magazine – and also see what our Mirror Book Club readers think of our latest picks …..

On Chapel Sands

On Chapel Sands

 

Laura Cumming

The author’s mother, Betty, was 10 when her parents told her she was adopted. But they did not tell the child the truth about who she was, leaving her feeling so unmoored that a wedge was driven between Betty and her father which endured until the day he died.

So Laura determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s mysterious beginnings. Her account opens with Betty, aged three, being kidnapped from a Lincolnshire beach in 1929. She was found unharmed 12 days later. But this disappearance becomes the key to unlocking the sad truth.

On Chapel Sands is a fascinating, beautifully written feat of detective work, evoking bygone Britain during an era when so much was left unsaid.

BY CHARLOTTE HEATHCOTE

Chatto & Windus, £18.99

Middle England

Middle England

 

Jonathan Coe

Coe revisits characters from The Rotters’ Club for this Brexit novel. Benjamin Trotter has retired and moved to the country while his sister Lois is still struggling to come to terms with tragedy. They and their friends and family are drawn into the conflicts which the referendum triggered, leading to explosive confrontations. A richly comic, piercingly observant state-of-the-nation novel.

BY VANESSA BERRIDGE

Penguin, £8.99

Queenie Malone’s Paradise Hotel

Queenie Malone’s Paradise Hotel

 

READ  People are still using fax machines and they're a major security risk

Ruth Hogan

The third novel from the author of The Keeper Of Lost Things switches between the story of Tilly, six, who lives with her troubled mother Grace in her friend Queenie Malone’s hotel, and grown-up Tilly who is in the grip of OCD and struggles to trust anyone. A novel full of warmth, humour and tenderness reveals secrets kept, love lost and irresponsible sacrifices made.

BY EITHNE FARRY

Two Roads, £7.99

The Only Girl – My Life And Times On The Masthead Of Rolling Stone

Robin Green

In this entertaining, no-holds-barred memoir, Green shares her memories of working on Rolling Stone magazine during its 1970s heyday and sleeping with “almost every man I met in those days”.
She vividly recalls life at the heart of American counterculture, complete with tons of sex, drugs
and rock’n’roll, leading to some of the best – and worst – days of her life.

BY CLAIR WOODWARD

Virago, £9.99

A Killing Sin

A Killing Sin By KH Irvine

 

KH Irvine

When outspoken comedian and former Muslim Amala Hackeem puts on a burqa and enters a women’s group in London’s Tower Hamlets, she finds herself embroiled in a terror plot that will see the UK brought to its knees.
Perfect for fans of Homeland and Spooks, this gritty, fast-paced debut novel about an all-female jihadi cell and a radicalised white woman is both timely and full of twists.

BY ROSIE HOPEGOOD

Urbane, £8.99

Read More

Top news stories from Mirror Online





READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here