Marcus Rashford named on Football Black List after child food poverty campaign

Marcus Rashford has been named on the 2020 Football Black List, an initiative celebrating the most influential black people in the British game.

The Football Black List was founded by Rodney Hinds and Leon Mann in 2008 and members are selected by an expert panel from the black community and football industry.

“Yet again the Football Black List has unearthed many in the community that are doing great work,” Hinds said upon the announcement of this year’s list. “The efforts of Marcus Rashford deserve acclaim alongside the others on the list who go about their business for the good of others. After a year of challenges, it is great to be provided with inspiration.”

Edleen John, the Football Association’s co-partner for equality, diversity and inclusion, Villa Women sporting director Eni Aluko and QPR’s director of football Les Ferdinand feature in non-playing sections of the list.

Chloe Morgan – Crystal Palace Women

Marcus Rashford – Manchester United and England

Tyrone Mings – Aston Villa and England

Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace and Ivory Coast

Edleen John – director of international relations, corporate affairs and diversity, Football Association

Eni Aluko – sporting director, Aston Villa Women

Jade Morgan – general manager, Leicester Women

Les Ferdinand – director of football, QPR

Marie Gabriel – chair, West Ham United Foundation

Alex Dyer – manager, Kilmarnock

Ashley Boasah and Cornelius Nwadialor – joint managers, Tooting and Mitcham

Jason Euell – under-23 head coach, Charlton

Karleigh Osborne – women’s head coach, Brentford

Tony Whelan – assistant academy director, Manchester United

Ashanti George-Faure – senior talent manager, Refresh Sports

Faina Msellam – sports industry advisory board member, Birkbeck Sport Business Centre

Marvin Morgan – chief executive, Fresh Ego Kid

Nathan Thompson – commercial director, West Ham

Warren Haughton – director, Haughton Consultancy

Community and grassroots:

Diane Sawyers – operations manager, Holford Drive Community Sports Hub

Duke Harrison-Hunter – equality, diversity and inclusion officer, Pompey in the Community

Emma Trent – head of programmes, Notts County Football in the Community

Harold Bennett – founder, North London Limited

Dr Michael Seeraj – head of equality diversity and inclusion, Charlton

Annette Nelson – education lead, Football v Homophobia

Carl Anka – football reporter, The Athletic

Charlene Gravesande – special projects journalist, Sky Sports

Hugh Woozencroft – sports broadcaster, talkSPORT

Jessica Creighton – sports reporter, Sky Sports

Micah Richards – freelance broadcaster

Hayley Bennett – founder, WeAreNutmegs

Jason Lee – equalities education executive, Professional Footballers’ Association

Marvin Robinson – chief executive, Peterborough United Foundation

Dr Matt Ogunsanya – club doctor, Watford

Sam Allison – national group referee, Professional Game Match Officials Limited


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more