Makinde dissolves cabinet, retains SSG, two others

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, on Tuesday, announced the dissolution of his cabinet.

Seventeen commissioners and the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Bisi Ilaka, were affected in the sacking.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Taiwo Adisa, who announced the dissolution in a statement on Tuesday said three council members were spared.

He gave the identities of the three members as the Secretary to the State Government, Head of Service and the Director General of Due Process office.

The CPS said Makinde announced the dissolution of the executive council after a meeting of the body on Tuesday, which lasted about five hours.

Makinde, according to the statement, expressed the gratitude of the government and the people of Oyo State to the council members and wished them well in their future endeavours.

The governor equally praised the dedication to duty and the commitment of the council members to the cause of taking Oyo State from poverty to prosperity.

The statement said, “His Excellency, the Governor of Oyo State, ‘Seyi Makinde, announced the dissolution of the State Executive Council, with effect from Tuesday, June 29, 2021.

“Governor Makinde, after a prolonged meeting of the Council, told members it was time to retool after two years.

“He therefore wished the ex-commissioners the best in their future endeavours.”


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more