International Woolmark Prize opens 2022 applications

Woolmark has opened the search for the next talent to follow in the
footsteps of Matty Bovan, for its 2022 International Woolmark Prize. The
International Woolmark Prize is the world’s most prestigious award for
rising fashion stars that showcase ‘the beauty and versatility of
Australian Merino wool.

To apply, designers must have been producing commercially available
apparel for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 8 years, at the time of
submitting an application. In addition, the rules state that the designer
should have “consistent experience” in working with and promoting best
practices across apparel supply chains, show a yearly growth in sales, and
demonstrate the innovative use of fabrics and textiles.

All applications will be reviewed by Woolmark’s advisory council of
industry experts. They will select six finalists from the hundreds of
applications. These six finalists will then go on to compete for the
International Woolmark Prize and Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation.

Emerging designers can apply for the International Woolmark Prize

The finalists will also take part in The Woolmark Company’s Innovation
Academy, an 18-month education and mentoring programme, which will offer
access to International Woolmark Prize partners and advisors supporting
product development, research and development, business and sustainability
strategies to assist in the development of their collections and brands.

Each finalist will receive 60,000 Australian dollars, approximately
45,000 US dollars to develop a capsule collection that highlights the
versatility, innovative nature and eco-credentials of Merino wool. With the
overall winner awarded 200,000 Australian dollars, approximately 150,000 US

In addition, the winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will
receive a prize fund of 100,000 Australian dollars, approximately 60,000 US
dollars. Winners and finalists will also have the opportunity to have their
Merino wool capsule collections commercialised and sold in the world’s top
boutiques and department stores through the International Woolmark Prize’s
retail partner network.

See also  Jay-Z and Blue Ivy Carter Steal the Show During Lakers Game Outing

This year, British designer Matty Bovan was crowned the winner of the
2021 International Woolmark Prize and won the Karl Lagerfeld Award for

Applications for the 2022 International Woolmark Prize closes on July
31, 2021.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more