tech news

How to factory reset your iPhone or iPad


Want to make more from your old devices? Here’s how to reset them before selling on… (Picture: Getty)

There are many reasons you might find yourself wanting to wipe the slate clean when it comes to your tech.

One of the most common reasons to do so is if you’ve sold your iPhone or tablet on, and don’t want to have any of your sensitive data or private photos accessed by someone else.

If you’ve dug around and found some old iPhones or iPads to sell to make some extra money during the cost of living crisis, here’s how to factory reset your devices.

How to reset your iPhone

If you’re iPhone is working fine and you have access to the settings still, it’s simple to wipe it clean.

  • Tap Settings on your phone, go to General and select the option which says Transfer or Reset [Device]
  • Then tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  • Once you’ve done this, you’ll likely be asked to enter your iPhone passcode.
  • Pop that in and then your device will start the reset process.
With just a few taps, you can wipe the slate clean (Picture: iPhone/Metro)

If you can’t remember your passcode, this process could be a bit more complicated – and the steps you need to follow vary depending on your iPhone model.

Apple have all the information online.

How to reset your iPad

Much like the iPhone process, it’s simple to reset your iPad.

Go to Settings – General – Transfer or Reset iPad.

If you’re erasing your iPad because you’re replacing it with a new iPad that you have on hand, you can use extra free storage in iCloud to move your apps and data to the new device.

Tap Get Started, follow the onscreen instructions, then return to Settings – General – Transfer or Reset iPad.

Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

If you’ve done this correctly, when your iPad comes back on, it’ll give you the option of setting up like new again, with the option of choosing languages, device name etc.

What to consider before resetting your iPhone or iPad

You might want to double check your data has been backed up elsewhere. If you haven’t, once you wipe your device, those photos and files are gone for good.

Save your important documents before you reset (Picture: Apple/Metro.co.uk)

To back up to your iCloud, open the Settings app of your Apple device and tap your name and Apple ID at the top of the page.

On your Apple ID page, tap iCloud.

Scroll down and select iCloud Backup. Tap Back Up Now to back up all your information to iCloud immediately.

If you’re getting a new iPhone or tablet, you can then restore your old information – including phone numbers, photos, texts – using everything you saved into your iCloud.


MORE :
How to check your AirPods’ battery and how long do they take to fully charge?


MORE : How to see all your app subscriptions on Apple and Android smartphones

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Share your views in the comments below.





READ SOURCE

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more