Guardian wins FSA newspaper of the year award for seventh time in a row

The Guardian has been named newspaper of the year at the Football Supporters’ Association awards – winning the award for the seventh time in a row.

The FSA, formerly known as the Football Supporters’ Federation, represents match-going fans across the UK. The awards are voted for by more than 40,000 fans.

The Guardian was also nominated in a number of categories, including podcast of the year (Football Weekly) and online media of the year (David Squires). David Conn and Suzanne Wrack were nominated for the writer of the year award.


“We like to put the fans first, and write for the fans. We’re not chasing clicks,” say @guardian_sport on their enduring popularity with football supporters – commending work of their sports writers.

December 16, 2019

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk was named as the FSA’s men’s player of the year, beating Raheem Sterling into second place after more than 340,000 votes were cast. “I’m very grateful to get this trophy, it means a lot to me,” Van Dijk said in a video message.

Van Dijk succeeded club-mate Mohamed Salah in winning the award, and there was a similar pattern to the women’s award. Netherlands forward Vivianne Miedema won the trophy, after Arsenal colleague Beth Mead won in 2018.

Sign up for the Fiver, our free daily football email.

The awards took place at The Pavilion at the Tower of London, and were hosted by James Richardson. Peter Drury was named commentator of the year, Jamie Carragher pundit of the year, and Radio Five’s 6-0-6 retained the radio show award.

Goal Diggers FC, a not-for-profit women’s football club in London, won the Fans for Diversity award, while Watford’s Dave Messenger won Supporter Liaison Officer of the year. Dulwich Hamlet took home the National Game community award, and Reading won the supporter engagement prize.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more