F1 2020 season guide: grand prix calendar, drivers, TV coverage, title betting odds

Mercedes star Lewis Hamilton will go into the 2020 Formula 1 season aiming to win a record-equalling seventh world championship. 

Hamilton secured his sixth F1 drivers’ title with victory in 2019 and this has put the Briton to within one of the record held by F1 icon Michael Schumacher. 

Valtteri Bottas will once again be Hamilton’s team-mate at the Silver Arrows and after finishing second in the 2019 drivers’ standings the Finn will hope to challenge again. 

Ferrari duo Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen will also be out to take Hamilton’s crown.

Driver changes in 2020 see Esteban Ocon join Daniel Ricciardo at Renault while Nicholas Latifi and George Russell will form Williams’s partnership. 

22 races in 2020

The 2020 F1 season features a record 22 races and starts with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne on 15 March. There will also be seven back-to-back grand prix weekends on the calendar. 

Vietnam (5 April) and the Netherlands (3 May) are additions to the schedule and the 2020 British GP will be held at Silverstone on 19 July. 

F1’s summer break will fall after the Hungarian GP on 2 August and the racing will resume in Belgium on 30 August. 

The 2020 season will end with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on 29 November. 

F1 2020 car launches senior writer Lawrence Barretto tweeted that Ferrari will reveal their 2020 F1 car on 11 February. Ferrari are the first team to confirm their plans.

When is pre-season testing? 

In 2020 there will be six days of pre-season testing instead of two four-day tests. Because of an extra race in the schedule the test sessions at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya will be held from 19-21 February and 26-28 February. There will be no in-season testing. 

F1 2020: the teams, drivers and race numbers 

  • Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton #44 and Valtteri Bottas #77 
  • Ferrari: Sebastian Vettel #5 and Charles Leclerc #16 
  • Red Bull Racing: Max Verstappen #33 and Alex Albon #23 
  • McLaren: Carlos Sainz Jr #55 and Lando Norris #4 
  • Renault: Daniel Ricciardo #3 and Esteban Ocon #31 
  • Toro Rosso: Pierre Gasly #10 and Daniil Kvyat #26 
  • Racing Point: Sergio Perez #11 and Lance Stroll #18  
  • Alfa Romeo: Kimi Raikkonen #7 and Antonio Giovinazzi #99   
  • Haas: Kevin Magnussen #20 and Romain Grosjean #8 
  • Williams: George Russell #63 and Nicholas Latifi #TBC
Zandvoort circuit in the Netherlands will host the F1 Dutch Grand Prix on 3 May 2020

2020 grand prix calendar

  • 19-21 February: pre-season test one in Barcelona
  • 26-28 February: pre-season test two in Barcelona
  • 15 March: Australian GP, Melbourne  
  • 22 March: Bahrain GP, Sakhir  
  • 5 April: Vietnam GP, Hanoi  
  • 19 April: Chinese GP, Shanghai  
  • 3 May: Dutch GP, Zandvoort  
  • 10 May: Spanish GP, Barcelona  
  • 24 May: Monaco GP, Monte Carlo  
  • 7 June: Azerbaijan GP, Baku 
  • 14 June: Canadian GP, Montreal  
  • 28 June: French GP, Le Castellet  
  • 5 July: Austrian GP, Spielberg
  • 19 July: British GP, Silverstone  
  • 2 August: Hungarian GP, Budapest  
  • 30 August: Belgian GP, Spa-Francorchamps  
  • 6 September: Italian GP, Monza
  • 20 September: Singapore GP, Singapore  
  • 27 September: Russian GP, Sochi  
  • 11 October: Japanese GP, Suzuka  
  • 25 October: United States GP, Austin  
  • 1 November: Mexican GP, Mexico City
  • 15 November: Brazilian GP, Sao Paolo  
  • 29 November: Abu Dhabi GP, Yas Marina 

F1 TV coverage in the UK

What TV channel is F1 on in 2020?

A new multi-year deal between UK broadcasters Sky Sports and Channel 4 was confirmed in September. Sky Sports F1 will show all 22 grands prix live in 2020 while Channel 4 will show free-to-air live coverage of the British Grand Prix and highlights of the other 21 races.  

Watch F1 on Now TV 

Formula 1 fans can also watch the action live on Now TV. Viewers can subscribe to a Sky Sports Day Pass via Now TV for just £9.99, the most economical way of watching each race.

Betting odds: F1 2020 driver championship winner

Best prices according to Oddschecker

  • Lewis Hamilton: 4/6  
  • Charles Leclerc: 6/1  
  • Max Verstappen: 7/1
  • Sebastian Vettel: 15/2  
  • Valtteri Bottas: 15/2  
  • Alexander Albon: 100/1 
  • Daniel Ricciardo: 1,000/1  
  • See for the full price list 


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more