F1 2020 guide: Australia, Bahrain, Vietnam and China races all off

Formula 1’s 2020 season is in disarray with the first four races falling victim to the spread of the coronavirus.

Hours before the season’s first practice in Melbourne it was announced that the Australian Grand Prix was cancelled because a McLaren team member had tested positive for the virus. 

Then on 13 March it was confirmed that the races in Bahrain and Vietnam would also not go ahead. This follows the earlier postponement of the Chinese Grand Prix which had been scheduled for April.   

F1 said subject to regular reviews the 2020 championship is expected to get underway at the end of May. 

The statement read: “In view of the continued global spread of COVID-19 and after ongoing discussions with the FIA, the Bahrain International Circuit, the Bahrain Motor Federation, the Hanoi People’s Committee the Vietnamese Motorsports Association, and the Vietnam Grand Prix Corporation, a decision has been taken by all parties to postpone both races. 

“Following the announcement of the Australian Grand Prix’s cancellation this week and the ongoing and fluid nature of the COVID-19 situation globally, Formula 1, the FIA and the promoters have taken these decisions in order to ensure the health and safety of the travelling staff, championship participants and fans, which remains our primary concern.

“Formula 1 and the FIA continue to work closely with the race promoters in Bahrain and Vietnam and the local authorities to monitor the situation and take the appropriate amount of time to study the viability of potential alternative dates for each Grand Prix later in the year should the situation improve. 

“As a result, Formula 1 and the FIA expect to begin the championship in Europe at the end of May but given the sharp increase in COVID-19 cases in Europe in recent days, this will be regularly reviewed.”

F1 and FIA statements 

Chase Carey, Formula 1 chairman and CEO

“The global situation regarding COVID-19 is fluid and very difficult to predict and its right we take time to assess the situation and make the right decisions. We are taking this decision with the FIA and our promoters to ensure the safety of everyone involved in Formula 1 and our fans.”

Jean Todt, FIA president

“Protecting people first. Together with Formula 1, the Bahrain Motor Federation, the Vietnamese Motorsports Association, and the local promoters, postponing both the Bahrain and Vietnam Grands Prix, as with the Australian Grand Prix, was the only possible decision given all of the information currently available to us. We continue to rely on the input and advice from the World Health Organisation [WHO] and governments and will work with them throughout this unpredictable period to safeguard the fans, competitors and all of the motor sport community.”

For analysis of the biggest sport stories – and a concise, balanced take on the week’s news – try The Week magazine. Start your trial today 

F1 2020 season guide

Teams, cars, drivers and race numbers 
  • Mercedes W11: Lewis Hamilton #44 and Valtteri Bottas #77 
  • Ferrari SF1000: Sebastian Vettel #5 and Charles Leclerc #16 
  • Red Bull Racing RB16: Max Verstappen #33 and Alex Albon #23 
  • McLaren MCL35: Carlos Sainz Jr #55 and Lando Norris #4 
  • Renault R.S.20: Daniel Ricciardo #3 and Esteban Ocon #31 
  • Alpha Tauri AT01: Pierre Gasly #10 and Daniil Kvyat #26 
  • Racing Point RP20: Sergio Perez #11 and Lance Stroll #18  
  • Alfa Romeo C39: Kimi Raikkonen #7 and Antonio Giovinazzi #99   
  • Haas VF-20: Kevin Magnussen #20 and Romain Grosjean #8 
  • Williams FW43: George Russell #63 and Nicholas Latifi #6

F1 TV coverage in the UK

What TV channel is F1 on in 2020?

A new multi-year deal between UK broadcasters Sky Sports and Channel 4 was confirmed last year. Sky Sports will show all races live in 2020 while Channel 4 will show free-to-air live coverage of the British GP and highlights of the other 21 races.  

Watch F1 on Now TV 

Formula 1 fans can also watch the action live on Now TV. Viewers can subscribe to a Sky Sports Day Pass via Now TV for £9.99, the most economical way of watching each race.

F1 2020 betting odds

F1 2020 drivers’ championship winner

Prices according to Oddschecker

  • Lewis Hamilton: 4/7
  • Max Verstappen: 5/1 
  • Charles Leclerc: 7/1 
  • Valtteri Bottas: 8/1
  • Sebastian Vettel: 12/1    
  • See for the full price list 
F1 2020 constructors’ championship winner
  • Mercedes: 2/7 
  • Ferrari: 13/2  
  • Red Bull: 13/2  
  • McLaren: 500/1
  • Racing Point: 500/1   
  • Renault: 400/1  
  • Alpha Tauri: 1,000/1
  • Alfa Romeo: 1,000/1 
  • Haas: 2,000/1    
  • Williams: 3,000/1
  • See

F1 2020 grand prix calendar

Races off
  • 15 March: Australian Grand Prix
  • 22 March: Bahrain Grand Prix  
  • 5 April: Vietnam Grand Prix 
  • 19 April: Chinese Grand Prix 
Dutch GP
  • When: 1-3 May  
  • Where: Zandvoort 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 3 May 

Max Verstappen drives the first laps at Zandvoort in a Red Bull RB8 – videos, pictures and reactions

Spanish GP
  • When: 8-10 May 
  • Where: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona  
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 10 May
Monaco GP
  • When: 21-24 May 
  • Where: Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 24 May
Azerbaijan GP 
  • When: 5-7 June 
  • Where: Baku City Circuit, Baku  
  • Race start time (UK time): 1.10pm on 7 June
Canadian GP 
  • When: 12-14 June  
  • Where: Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, Montreal 
  • Race start time (UK time): 7.10pm on 14 June 
French GP
  • When: 26-28 June  
  • Where: Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 28 June 
Austrian GP 
  • When: 3-5 July  
  • Where: Red Bull Ring, Spielberg 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 5 July
British GP 
  • When: 17-19 July  
  • Where: Silverstone  
  • Race start time (UK time): 3.10pm on 19 July
Hungarian GP 
  • When: 31 July-2 August 
  • Where: Hungaroring, Budapest 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 2 August
Belgian GP
  • When: 28-30 August 
  • Where: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 30 August
Italian GP 
  • When: 4-6 September 
  • Where: Autodromo Nazionale Monza 
  • Race start time (UK time): 2.10pm on 6 September
Singapore GP 
  • When: 18-20 September 
  • Where: Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore 
  • Race start time (UK time): 1.10pm on 20 September
Russian GP 
  • When: 25-27 September 
  • Where: Sochi Autodrom, Sochi 
  • Race start time (UK time): 12.10pm on 27 September 
Japanese GP 
  • When: 9-11 October  
  • Where: Suzuka International Racing Course 
  • Race start time (UK time): 5.10am on 11 October
United States GP 
  • When: 23-25 October  
  • Where: Circuit of The Americas in Austin 
  • Race start time (UK time): 7.10pm on 25 October 
Mexican GP
  • When: 30 October-1 November 
  • Where: Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City 
  • Race start time (UK time): 7.10pm on 1 November
Brazilian GP 
  • When: 13-15 November  
  • Where: Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo 
  • Race start time (UK time): 5.10pm on 15 November
Abu Dhabi GP
  • When: 27-29 November 
  • Where: Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi 
  • Race start time (UK time): 1.10pm on 29 November

For analysis of the biggest sport stories – and a concise, balanced take on the week’s news – try The Week magazine. Start your trial today 


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more