Commons votes against Boris Johnson's general election – how did your MP vote

Boris Johnson was dealt another stinging blow when MPs refused to back his bid for a general election.

It was the Prime Minister’s sixth defeat since he entered Number 10.

Labour and the other Opposition parties held firm and refused to back the bid because they feared an election would allow Mr Johnson to crash the UK out of the EU.

While Labour MPs largely abstained, a number of Remain-backing MPs voted against joined by the Lib Dems.

The motion was defeated after an identical motion was rejected by the House of Commons just five days ago.

Mr Johnson required 2/3rds of MPs to back his motion – but only 293 MPs voted for the motion – well short of the required number under the Fixed Term Parliament Act. 

The Prime Minister will now suspend Parliament for five weeks leaving MPs unable to hold him to account over the emergency.

Before they left the Commons MPs blew up his “do or die” Brexit when a bill demanding a three month delay finally made it into law.

But during tonight’s debate Mr Johnson doubled on his promise not to obey that law.

Find out how your MP voted on an early general election below:


READ  Government ‘does not know’ if bloated £14bn foreign aid budget is delivering value for money, watchdog claims


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here