Chelsea win Club of the Year Trophy at Ballon d’Or 2021 awards ceremony

Chelsea have been named as the first winners of the new Club of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony.

The Blues had a number of individuals all aiming for awards in their respective categories, which highlighted how well both the men’s and women’s teams had fared in their respective seasons.

Edouard Mendy eventually came second in the goalkeepers award, the Yashin Trophy, while Jorginho finished third and N’Golo Kante fifth in the main men’s Ballon d’Or award.

For the women’s Feminin award, Chelsea had four players on the 10-strong shortlist – Sam Kerr finishing third as the highest-ranked of them.

However, consolation followed for the club as an entire entity as they were named the top side overall for their on-pitch efforts. That follows the men winning the Champions League under Thomas Tuchel, while the women’s side were WSL champions under Emma Hayes.

This season they have both started in good form once again domestically, with the Blues top of the Premier League and second in the WSL heading into December.

Romelu Lukaku, Mason Mount, Cesar Azpilicueta, Pernille Harder, Fran Kirby and Jessie Fleming were all on the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or awards.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more