THOMAS TUCHEL has claimed Chelsea captain Jorginho was blinded by the lights as his shocking error gifted Manchester United a goal.
Red Devils winger Jadon Sancho pounced on the mistake to burst through and slot the ball past a sprawling Edouard Mendy.
That put the visitors 1-0 up at Stamford Bridge – but Blues boss Tuchel had a novel excuse for his skipper’s error.
He said: “He misjudged the situation and I think he was heavily disturbed from the lights. It happens.
“It takes a lot of courage and personality to not be affected during the match and to have the courage to take the penalty. I am very happy that he did it.”
Jorginho made up for his error 20 minutes later when he equalised with a hop-skip-and-jump from the penalty spot.
United defender Aaron Wan-Bissake gave away the spotkick when he booted Thiago Silva in the box.
And Jorginho made amends as he converted after his trademark stuttering run-up left David De Gea wrong-footed in the United net.
Tuchel himself has also seen his name hit the headlines following the frantic 1-1 draw.
The German was shown a yellow card after ranting at ref Anthony Taylor for failing to spot an offside and instead awarding the visitors a corner.
Chelsea are one point clear of Liverpool at the top of the table as the Premier League heads into its packed December schedule.
The Blues stand to play NINE matches before the end of the year – eight domestic ties and one in the Champions League.
⚽ Read our Football news live blog for the very latest rumours, gossip and done deals