Buhari seeks Senate confirmation for new ICPC, RMAFC commissioners

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), has asked the Senate, to confirm the appointment of five commissioners to fill vacancies at the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission. 

The request was contained in a letter dated September 28, 2021, which was read during the plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan. 

Buhari in the letter explained that the confirmation request was in accordance with the provision of Section 3(6) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act, 2000.

The nominees for confirmation include; Dr Mojisola Yaya-Kolade, Ekiti (South-West); Mrs Anne Otelafu Odey, Cross River (South-South); Alh. Goni Ali Gujba, Yobe (North-East); Dr Louis Solomon Mandama, Adamawa (North-East); and Senator Anthony O. Agbo, Ebonyi (South-East). 

Meanwhile, Buhari in a second letter requested that the upper chamber confirm the appointment of Engr. Mohammed Sanni Baba as Federal Commissioner for Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission representing Bauchi State. 

The President said the request to confirm the nominee was made in accordance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended). 


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more