Ahmad Lawan’s senate constitute 57-man constitution review committee[List]

President of the Nigeria Senate, Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan on Thursday in Abuja constituted a 57-man Constitution Review Committee.

He charged members of the committee to be detailed in their public hearing, adding that, “they should open up to public opinions, experts’ advice and civil society organizations in order to produce a credible and acceptable constitution that will work for Nigerians”

He noted that every state was represented in the Committee to reflect the yearnings of all as the nation looks to having a constitution that would bridge social and economic gaps of the country.

The principal officers of the Committee are:

Senator Robert Ajayi Boroffice
Sabi Aliyu Abdullahi
Enyinnaya Abaribe
Emmanuel Bwacha
Philip Aduda
Sahabi Ya’u.

The principal officers that make up the Steering Committee are also members of the main committee.

“Each state is represented by one Senator as a member of the Steering Committee ”
In addition, there are zonal representations and each zone is to be represented by one person in the committee.

North West – Senator Bala Ibn’Nallah and Ibrahim Shekarau

North East – Kashim Shettima and Lawal Yahaya Gumau

North Central – Umar Tanko Al-Makura and Senator Yakubu Oseni

South West – Abdulfatah Buhari and Biodun Olujimi

South East – Lillian Ekwunife and Chukwuka Utazi

South South – Senator Rose Oko and Senator Eyakenyi Akon Etim

Lawan urged Nigerians to come forward on issues that were critical for constitutional amendment.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.  Learn more